Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

Under the Egg

on September 2, 2015
Theo Tenpenney can’t stop thinking about the last words her grandfather, Jack, uttered to her before dying: “It’s under the egg…there’s a letter…and a treasure.” Theo can’t get these words out of her head, but she also can’t figure them out. She’s desperate for a hidden treasure. She’s trying to survive on the $463 Jack left in a mason jar. Her mother is present, but preoccupied by her obsessive work on math theorems. Jack was Theo’s caretaker and now she’s left to fend for herself. Theo discovers her first clue when she accidentally spills alcohol on a painting that hung above the mantle. This reveals another, much older, and potentially valuable painting. Where did this painting come from and why did Jack keep it hidden? Is this the treasure Jack referred to? Theo embarks on a quest to discover the origins of this painting. Along the way she learns about her grandfather’s secret past.

16 Responses to “Under the Egg”

  1. Abby says:

    I love this book, I love how it talks about famous artists, art and history about Theo’s grandfather in the war. I read this book in less than a week because I loved it so much.
    This book will be my favorite DCF this year.

  2. dianne vanlew says:

    TOTALLY AWESOME

  3. JS says:

    You should read this book because there is a lot of twists and turns that get you confused but if you add everything up, it makes sense so if you like puzzles, you probably will enjoy this book

  4. AS Wolf pack says:

    Under the egg is a good book and I like that it is a mystery book and it leaves you with clues witch I think is cool.

  5. AS Wolf pack says:

    Under the egg is a good book and I like that it is a mystery book and it leaves you with clues witch I think is cool. AS

  6. Anonymous says:

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I loved the ending because it was so unexpected! I thought that Jack seemed like a really interesting character and I’m sad that I didn’t get to know him better. I also really liked the librarian who helped Theo find information on her grandfather.

  7. ryan says:

    It’s awesome how the story twisted and how it based off another book. The story twist has a lot to do with the title of the book. I don’t want to give too much away.

  8. cadman says:

    hi

  9. Maddison says:

    I really didn’t like how the grandpa died

  10. ryan says:

    i love this book so much. After Jack dies it’s all a mystery – then she finds Bodhi and others to solve it.

  11. Maddison says:

    I didn’t finish this book because it got boring toured the middle. What was so boring about it was that it just kept talking about art and art and art!

  12. Brie says:

    To me it was not a good book. It went back and fourth between the 8characters. Theo wasnt on point she talked about her mom,herself,and her Jack her grandfather. I only read 51 pages of Under The Egg. She didnt explain why she wanted to spill the paint remover on the painting and then the painting was under the painting that was painted on the real painting.

  13. Kariah says:

    I think this book is interesting and i recomend it.

  14. Maddison says:

    I love this book so far. Theodora and Bodhi are my favorite characters in the whole book. I liked how the book describes what the painting looks like. It is a painting with a Madonna and child with a bird flying. I didn’t like how Theodora’s grandpa Jack dies. That is so sad because we didn’t know him as a character that much.

  15. Tristan Prescott says:

    Love this book it’s full of mystery and excitement.

  16. Debbie says:

    I am a sucker for a book about art and history. I thought this was well written and fun to read.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar