Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

The Night Gardener

on September 2, 2015
After the disappearance of their parents, fourteen-year-old Molly and her younger brother Kip are left to take care of themselves. They flee from their native Ireland during the Great Potato Famine and arrive in England, where they find themselves penniless and homeless. Desperate to find jobs and a place to live, Molly and Kip seek employment as servants at the Windsor house despite the many warnings that the local townspeople give them. Upon entering the estate, they immediately sense that something isn’t quite right. The house is eerie and dark, a creepy twisted old tree grows alongside the house, and the Windsor family is strange and unnaturally pale. Soon Molly and Kip discover that the estate is haunted by the Night Gardener, a spirit who grants wishes but also feeds off the souls of those who inhabit the house. Together, Molly and Kip must overcome the powers the spirit holds over them and come to accept the truths of their past.

24 Responses to “The Night Gardener”

  1. 6silver says:

    This was my favorite DCF book!

  2. Anonymous says:

    @sophiavt I think the witch lady is witch like

  3. Zoe U. says:

    This is my favorite book of all time! my favorite part is when kip falls into the hole and the tree almost constricts him. This is an awesome book I recommend this to everyone who is even thinking about reading it! I also love the part when The night gardener drops the fence gate on the doctor and kills him! I love it sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. a super strange name J.G says:

    this book looks super good I have not read it but it WILL come in 3rd behind eldeafo and there will be bears

  5. T man T.L says:

    I think this book is really good I hope that the auther make’s another book like this because itis a mysterie all the way through the book .

  6. T man T.L says:

    This book is a nice spookay book if you like spooky books . This book is a nice night time campfire book I think .

  7. Dancer KI says:

    I think this is a interesting book because you never know what is going to happen. At first it might seem a little confusing. But after a while it is a great book. If you like mysteries and spooky book this will be a great book for you to read.

  8. SarahVT says:

    my teacher says it’s good and my math teacher says it’s great.

  9. POLAR BEAR A.M says:

    I just finished this book last night. I love this author he really describes everything

  10. EoinVT says:

    My favorite part was the knives and axes in the tree.

  11. Anonymous says:

    EionVT:There is no creepiest part. Everything is creepy. What did you like the best about The Night Gardener?

  12. Aelin says:

    SophiaVT:
    why would you recommend this book? I liked the plot of the story. What else did you like about The Night Gardener?

  13. EoinVT says:

    Aelin – What was the creepiest part?

  14. EoinVT says:

    I am almost done with the book it has a rely creepy ending

  15. hannahpeacock says:

    It is definitely very creepy!

  16. SarahVT says:

    this book looks really mystery and a little scary

  17. SophiaVT says:

    I did not under stand the end of the book. How did the house set fire? Maybe I misread it. Maybe I accidentally skipped apart, but I don’t think I missed any thing. I read the book cover to cover.

  18. SophiaVT says:

    Eoin VT, See what you mean by “This book was scary” when Kip was joining molly in the servants quarters to sleep,[mistress Windsor had told him because he was sick and crippled he could not sleep inside. she was worried that he would get her children “sick” too]he saw the night gardener.The description of him sounded very creepy.

  19. SophiaVT says:

    eoin vt, what about this book do you think is scary so far?

  20. SophiaVT says:

    So far this book has been really good. My favorite part so far was when Molly and Kip came across the “witch lady”. I liked her character in the book. She does not sound like a witch, but how Molly described her it sounded like a witch. I highly recemend this book to all whom thing about reading it.

  21. hannahpeacock says:

    Your teacher was right! It’s a terrific book but if you get creeped out easily, it may not not be the best choice for you.

  22. hannahpeacock says:

    I agree. Totally creepy and really really good!

  23. Aelin says:

    Okay this book was CREEPY and i’m not even one to get creeped out. It had a good story line but really, CREEPY!!!

  24. eoin vt says:

    my teacher told me that it this book wus scary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar