Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

Prisoner 88

on June 21, 2014

prisoner 88by Leah Pileggi.

In 1885, ten-year-old Jake is sent to prison for killing a man who threatened his father, and struggles to survive the harsh realities of prison life in the Idaho Territory. Based on a true story.


45 Responses to “Prisoner 88”

  1. Anonymous says:

    I think the book is a good book ,but the words in the book confused me. This book is very different from most books on how it explains a book about a younger boy. I would recommend this book to many people.

  2. JKR says:

    I like the book because it was a great story

  3. JKR says:

    I like the book because it was a great story.

  4. EKR says:

    I love this book. It really brings you to the life of Jake and what it’s like to be young and in jail. I love how he’s very confident and will keep on going. And you’re going to love the ending!

  5. Mee2016 says:

    This book was very good. It was written as if the boy was speaking telling the events that occurred to him. I recommend this book if you are a lover of action.

  6. ols17 says:

    I really liked this book, and I would think that whoever else that read this book would like it too.

  7. ER says:

    This is an amazing book that tells you everything about Jake, and his life in prison. It’s a great book you’ll love

  8. Dancer 22 says:

    Prisoner 88 was also a great book.I wish there was more books like this.

    Well, Ms. Pileggi hasn’t published any other books yet, but I bet she is working on at least one. While you are waiting, you might want to ask your librarian if he or she could find help you find some similar titles. — Kate Davie

  9. DCF WHATS UP?! says:

    The book is about this ten year old boy who is sent to prison for shooting a man who threatened his father. And he makes prison life and later on lives with one of his prison friends.

  10. FGTeev says:

    This book is a good book because a boy named Jake was sent to jail because he shot somebody. Jake thinks that he likes the jail life better than his old life because they feed him food and on his first day in jail he had a giant feast.

  11. M.r Cool says:

    I think that prisoner 88 was a good book because that can show toy how bad people can be when people were trying to kill each other. I welt bad for Jake because he was 10 and his dad was not that nice to him. I think that Jake had a bad life and was happy in jail because his dad would drink to much and that was not good for Jake and his dad because Jake could think that if you drink a lot that would be good for you but a lot is not good for you.

  12. BACON FAT says:

    Prisoner 88 is a great book because it keeps you constantly wondering about what is going to happen next. I think he should have stayed in the prison because he had more friends there.

    Do you think he will be able to make more friends in other places? — Kate Davie

  13. hockey dude says:

    I liked the book so much because every page you read it would make you want to keep reading like every chapter I ended I could not stop so it made me keep reading. It was a emotional touching book to your heart. It almost made me cry when they threw the cat at the wall it was so sad. The author is a really good author. She adds everything you need to add to make the story a good book. I would read it about 100 times and always find something new because it so interesting.

  14. Soccerguy487 says:

    I liked this book a lot. It was really sad. It was about a boy who was taken to prison with other adult inmates. He had a very rough time. There was a lot of sad injuries and death, but this book is still good. It was written very well.

  15. Chubby Bunny $$$$ says:

    This is a very good book because it started at a kid who just was a normal kid at first but then his parents Die

    What do you think is the most unusual thing that happened to him? — Kate Davie

  16. M.R COOL says:

    I think that Prisoner 88 was good because the pictures went a long with the story. They let Jake have a chance to show them that he was good. The book was sad but it still had a happy ending.

  17. Get a derpy life on Derps says:

    I have read the book and it is a very good book. Even my friends read it and they said it was a good book too.

    So, can you all tell us why you liked it so much? — Kate Davie

  18. nanalana13 says:

    I’m so happy that Leah Pileggi included the author’s note at the end.

    Would you tell us why that was that so important to you? — Kate Davie

  19. TheBeeHiveKid says:

    Prisoner 88 is one of my favorite books of mine. it is about a 10 year old boy who goes to jail for man slaughter. it is based on a true story. – TheBeeHiveKid.

  20. DW says:

    I think this was an exciting book to read. My favorite part was when Jake(prisoner 88) is sent free from jail and has a good [Spoiler info deleted. Sorry DW! — Kate Davie]. This book was one of the best I have read so far.

  21. LH says:

    I love the book I think the book is really interesting. The best part about it is that you don’t know what is going to happen next, and the author really describes how life was at the prison.

  22. BN says:

    I thought it was a interesting and was a good book

  23. Bob says:

    I really liked this book because you can see how young a kid could to jail and it surprised me when his father gives up his father ship

  24. MM GES :) says:

    I thought it was really good and interesting. With lots of different twists and turns.

  25. bjs17 says:

    I liked this book because its realistic fiction. I liked all the characters because they let the ten year old boy have chance. I think you should read it because its a good story throughout the whole book.

  26. OSW GES says:

    The book was really interesting to me because I really like Historical Fiction. The part where he shot the guy really shocked me because I didn’t expect a little boy to shoot a guy and go to jail for it!

  27. Duck frenzy says:

    Love the book it is so cool!!!

    What is the coolest thing about it? — Kate Davie

  28. Bunnyissad says:

    This book is a really good book it always surprised me at the end I hope you all like this book to.

  29. this is my user name#1 says:

    This book has to be one of my favorite books so far! If you like fast paced books this is the one for you. I love how the author describes the different events that happen in the story. The author leaves cliff hangers left and right. I couldn’t put the book down. I read it all in one day!

  30. azstampa says:

    @glitterbug

    I agree with you. I can really visualize the setting. there are also really adventurous parts, also some silly and tense moments. this is a really good book.

  31. azstampa says:

    @CMwaterpower. you really should read this book I’s really good there are some tense moments there also is some silly moments I really recommend it, if you are interested in silly, and tense moments.

  32. azstampa says:

    I really liked this book because the story is really good. I really was surprised that Jake had to go to a real prison. While in prison he had to eat stale bread and water for 3 days. He had to protect him self by punching a man, when the man was trying to choke him . I am all so surprised the he ate a better dinner then breakfast and lunch. Even though it has been 100+ years they still head a balanced meal in prison. For a 10 year old he did not get hurt as bad as I thought he would get hurt.

  33. azstampa says:

    Jake worked on a pig farm in jail it helped him get through jail. Jake kind of learned profession of taking care of animals. Jake tricked henry by distasting by asking his about his mouth and then Jake made a MAD DASH for the hog farm on killing day.

  34. CMwaterpower says:

    I have herd this book is good almost every kid in my class wants to read it I have herd it is about a young boy age 10 if I am correct. I hope I will get a time to read it. The tittle really makes me want to read this book because it sounds like adventurous book by the tittle. Do you think I think should read it. Is it a good book yes or no.

  35. bbdqueen says:

    wow, this book sounds really good! i haven’t been able to find it, but i will keep trying!

    Have you asked your librarian? – Kate Davie

  36. JSC says:

    Prisoner 88 is such an exceptional book to me. I love how it has so many problems in the

    book. How he shot a guy and went to jail for it. If you decide to read this book you’re really

    going to like it.

  37. glitterbug says:

    Prisoner 88 is my favorite DCF book this year.The writer’s detail makes me picture the scene in my head. It’s a good story to read.It feels like I’m in that prison.

  38. minecrafter29 says:

    I’m really loving this book! I highly recommend this book for high level readers.

    Why do you think you are loving it? Does it have anything in common with Minecraft? — Kate Davie

  39. Ari 21 says:

    I’m in the middle of reading this book. So far I am in love with this book! This is one of my favorite books.

  40. sfsteve says:

    I just finished Prisoner 88.It is a book inspired by true story about a young prisoner named Jake. He go’s through good times and bad times. After a while he starts to enjoy the pig farm.

  41. sf\steve says:

    I just finished Prisoner 88.It is a book inspired by true story about a young prisoner named Jake. He go’s through good times and bad times. After a while he starts to enjoy the pig farm.

  42. AB says:

    This book is really interesting to me because life was so different in the 1880’s compared to now.

  43. clutchbacon says:

    I think this is a good book.

    What is the best thing about it? Kate Davie

  44. sfsteve says:

    Jake is 10.He is in prison only because [Spoiler info deleted.]He works at a pig farm at the prison.Jake likes working on the farm.Althogh some pigs try to eat his boots.

    Pigs can be scary, especially if you aren’t full grown yet. I hope Jake is a good problem solver! Kate Davie

  45. sf\steve says:

    Jake is 10.He is in prison only because [Spoiler info deleted.]He works at a pig farm at the prison.Jake likes working on the farm.Althogh some pigs try to eat his boots.

    Pigs can be scary, especially if you aren’t full grown yet. I hope Jake is a good problem solver! Kate Davie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar