Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

Small Spaces

on August 31, 2019

Ollie Adler saves an old book from a distraught woman threatening to throw it into a river. The book leads Ollie into a dangerous, supernatural struggle for survival at a local farm. Ollie and her friends can only survive if they can hide in the “small spaces” and follow the mysterious messages that appear on her “broken” digital wristwatch.


22 Responses to “Small Spaces”

  1. Riley says:

    this book is amazing, I encourage you all to read it

  2. Donkey honk says:

    I love it!! I totally recommend this book.

  3. honky donkey says:

    I like this and if you have not red it you should read it.

  4. coyote sunrise says:

    i loved this book but it made it hard to sleep!

  5. Cat says:

    I love this book because it show’s lot’s of girl leadership and girls taking charge.

  6. Cat says:

    I like this book because it show’s a lot of girl leadership and girls taking charge.

  7. oreo says:

    The book Small Spaces was a little boring at first and then it got scary. The scarecrow characters really scared me because they frightened people and kept going after them. The other spooky part of the book was the people on the bus and the scarecrows that were chasing them. I liked the mystery of the kids trying to figure out why the scarecrows were after them.

  8. Captain0765 says:

    I liked Small Spaces the most, because it pulled you into the story. In the story you learn about moving scarecrows and a creepy forest with tons of surprises. The story includes kids around my age which made it even more interesting.

  9. Evelyn says:

    Small spaces takes place in Vermont and is about a girl named Ollie Adler. On her way home from school she takes an old book from a scared lady threatening to throw it in to the river. As soon as she reads the book things start changing in creepy ways. Later that week she goes on a field trip to a town farm that’s known for spooky history with her class and things turn in a different direction. To help her along the way her (“broken”) digital wrist watch gives clues to help her survive. After reading this book you will never want to see a scarecrow again!

  10. SST-Peace says:

    Small Spaces Is a great book to read, because it has a lot of suspense. The book can give the reader chills in some points. It has a strange past and story to it, it’s just like if you were to write an autobiography about yourself when you were young and then read it 90 years later. There were parts where I felt strange, such as the part where. Ollie is at a farm, eating vegetables and suddenly the bus appears right behind her, as the bus driver says a creepy poem to Ollie.

  11. Lebron 23 says:

    Small spaces is definitely one of the best books I’ve read. It is quite scary and keeps you on your toes throughout. One of my favorite parts is when Olly comes across a woman trying to throw a book in the river. Later Olly’s class goes on a field trip and their bus breaks down and mist starts enveloping the bus. You should definitely read small spaces as your next read!

  12. Anthony28 says:

    At the beginning of the story Ollie comes across a woman trying to throw a book in a river. Ollie grabs the book from the woman and as she’s running away the woman tellls her to stay in the small spaces. This turns out to be good advice. Later, on a school field trip the bus breaks down and a mist envelopes the students, the teachers goes missing and the bus driver acts very weird. Read Small Spaces to find out what happens next. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

  13. awesome96 says:

    cant wait to read.looks good

  14. Cayden says:

    I like Small Spaces because it is creepy, mysterious, and suspenseful. My favorite part in the book is when the bus brakes down.

  15. Jack Hoyler says:

    Small Spaces is kinda scary. You can’t really put it down once you pick it up. I am starting Don’t listen… Dead Voices, the sequel.

  16. Phoebe Edmonds-Beattie says:

    I really liked Small Spaces and now I also have read Dead Voices to.Both are good books and I liked them very much.

  17. Anonymous says:

    Small Spaces is kinda scary. But once you start reading you can’t really put it down. Today I am starting Don’t listen… Dead Voices (the sequel).

  18. BOB says:

    I really want to read Small Spaces because it looks scary. I love scary stuff, but not in person. I think it would be a fun and scary experience and it would definitely give me the creeps. I might never go on a field trip again. I can’t wait!

  19. Ava says:

    This was a very exciting book! The main character Ollie is very brave. The author did a very nice job describing Ollie as a brave person. Once you start reading, it’s hard to stop. It gave you some clues of what will happen, and some puzzles that all makes sense at the end. If you like adventure and thriller books, this is the book for you.

  20. Charlie Farrell says:

    My favorite part was when the bus stopped in the mysterious mist. The suspense builds as the teacher disappears and the bus driver begins to weird out. I never did like bus trips!

  21. Charlie Farrell says:

    So much of the scary action occurs during a school field trip. Have you ever had a scary experience on a school trip?
    My class once went to Cape Cod and we spent time on a mudflat with a biologist. He used a rake to dig up a huge quahog. He shucked open the clam and held it up to the group and asked if anyone knew what to do with a raw quahog. Our classmate Jean B. smiled, stepped forward and opened her mouth. The biologist poured the raw clam into Jean’s mouth and she swallowed it!! We were both impressed and repulsed!

  22. Anonymous says:

    I really liked this book because it is kind of scary and weird. I also liked small spaces because it has a lot of mysteries throughout the book. How did you guys like the book? what was your favorite part?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar