Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans

on August 26, 2016

9780544157774This is a journalistic look at the disastrous hurricane that leveled New Orleans in August 2005, brought to grim life through graphic novel style illustrations. A dramatic tale with text that ranges from simple, factual sentences to quotations from an extensive collection of books and media.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save


17 Responses to “Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans”

  1. Lily says:

    it was very interesting to read about how the people were trying to survive in the hurricane.

  2. sophie says:

    This was a great informational book. I was alive when hurricane Katrina hit but do not remember, it was nice to learn about what happened early on in my life. It was very sad though to see that people resorted to steeling. Also the picture of the people drowning was very sad.

  3. Manny F. says:

    I thought this was a very interesting book it really captured the idea of the horrible events of Hurricane Katrina

  4. mustang says:

    This book is interesting and it’s a graphic novel.The pictures are a little blury

  5. kylee says:

    I absolutely loved this book not because it was short because it told about what hurricane Katrina was all about for other people. It was so sad when the guy had to leave his dog behind in the storm. I would definitely read this book again.

  6. Darrian H says:

    I think this was a great graphic novel. Although it was short it was very informative on what happened around the time of Katrina and how bad the flood actually was

  7. Emma J says:

    I really liked Drowned City. It was sad at times but it also gave me a lot of interesting and important details about hurricane Katrina.

  8. Haven M says:

    This book makes me sad that many many people had to live through hurricane Katrina. Many lost loved ones and sometimes even children and pets. I Think that this book was sad but happy at the same time. It was sad because of how many people die but happy because of how many were saved.

  9. HenilVT says:

    On pages 42 and 43 people break into the convention center where there is no food, water, or beds. I wonder why people break in the center where there is no food, water, or beds. I think they feel safer inside the building because they have cover. This reminds me of hurricane Matthew and I wonder if people in Florida had to take shelter like this. I could connect to this feeling because I had to take shelter from a hail storm in a fort in India.

  10. HenilVT says:

    I am reading Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina & New Orleans by Don Brown. This book is nonfiction. On pages 36 and 37, police couldn’t save people from the flood and normal people like Department of Wildlife and Fisheries officers saved people’s lives by going house to house in boats. I think the officers should be honored by people of Louisiana.

  11. TSGES says:

    I like this book so much it’s my favorite. It might get my vote. It really shows how scary Katrina was. I like how the author Don Brown doesn’t follow one person and/or group. I learned a lot about the president’s view of the situation. I suggest this book if you like survival books, since this is a bit of a twist on survival in the wild.

  12. Tanner says:

    I think Drowned City is a easy read that is partly informational text and partly a fiction text that is about Hurricane Katrina.

  13. Sam says:

    I think that “Drown City” is a very good book because you get to understand what it was like to be in hurricane Katrina.So I think it was a very good book.

  14. hannahp says:

    I lie this book and it is a interesting book and i recommed it to other people .

  15. owen says:

    I agree the pictures also made me see the sense of the devastation. I also agree with the first comment that the facts are very powerful and meaningful. The part that made me the saddest was when people had to leave there animals Behind and let the animals most likely die.

  16. Zoe C says:

    Drowned City tells about Katrina and New Orleans. It gives a lot of detail about the damage from the storm. Exact facts that are very powerful and meaningful. It is a little sad at times.

  17. anniebrabazon says:

    The images in this graphic novel gives me such a sense of the devastation this storm caused. What image was the most meaningful or powerful one and why?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar