Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

Rain Reign

on September 3, 2015
Fifth grader Rose Howard is obsessed with homophones, rules and prime numbers. She lives alone with her father, who spends most of his time working at the local garage or hanging out at The Luck of the Irish bar. One rainy night he comes home with a dog for Rose. He never brings Rose anything, so she is thrilled. She names the dog Rain (Rein, Reign– a special homonym trio!) and he becomes Rose’s companion and best friend. When a really bad hurricane hits their small town, Rain goes missing. Now, Rose must find her dog, even if it means leaving her routines and safe places. During her search for Rain, one that lasts for weeks, Rose discovers an uncomfortable truth– Rain’s original owners are also looking for him.

24 Responses to “Rain Reign”

  1. maxman says:

    This book was a ride of emotions and a great story line, this is an amazing chose in characters personality.

  2. Cole says:

    This was a great book, its very sad but it was the most emotional book iv’e ever read. Great book.

  3. 6silver says:

    This book was okay.

  4. Alana says:

    I have almost finished this book and I think it is amazing

  5. Cupcake_9002 says:

    Post- RP. I liked this book. It had a lot of descriptive details, like when she is at school she talks about her uncle, picks her up and drops her off back at her house. This is also a very mysterious book, and you don’t know when things are going to happen, for example: Rose has no idea she is going to get her dog, Rain (rain reign), and yet she did. Over all this book is a wonderful book and I think a lot of people should read it!

  6. maxman says:

    I thought this book was very exciting and great in the beginning. It was intriguing but towards the end I started to lose interest and I started to get bored because she spent too much time looking for the owner of her dog. I did finish it but it was a challenge.

  7. BlueButterfly188 says:

    I have started reading this and it’s a good book. Some parts I think are funny, but at the same time, I feel bad for Rose. I like Rose and her dog Rain, and all the cool stuff on homonyms.

  8. Jennifer says:

    I really loved this book. If you’re looking for a story where you get hooked right away, read this book.

  9. hockey16GB says:

    Her father is so hard on her because, his daughter needs special things to keep her out of trouble.

  10. maxvt says:

    Maddie, I like that Parvina is nice to Rose but she is isn’t a big part of the book, so she is not my favorite character. Rose’s uncle Weldon is my favorite character, because he helps Rose find Rain when Rain gets lost.

  11. maxvt says:

    Why are Flo And Ander’s so mean to Rose? For instance, I think that Flo is being mean when she”sees that Mrs.Leibler is busy opening her container of pasta,and she turns to Ander’s and rolls her eyes.”I believe they are mean because Rose has autism and her family does not have a lot of money.

  12. hockey16GB says:

    I was wondering if the people in the book are real people? Also why did the girls mother leave in the first place?

  13. Taylor says:

    This book sucked me in from the first page I could not stop reading.It was a rollercoster of emotions up and down it for sure kept me on the edge of my seat.It is so cool how Rose is obsessed with homophone and prime numbers.I am in love with this book.

  14. maxvt says:

    How did the author come up with homophones to use for Rose’s favorite interest. Maybe the author liked homophones when she was a kid.

  15. maxvt says:

    hannahpeacock I think Rose’s dad was so hard on Rose she kept doing what he said not to do. Or just kept talking about one subject like homopones and would not stop talking about them. Like if someone annoying you and you tell them to stop and they don’t you would probally get annoyed . That’s why Rose’s dad got annoyed at Rose and was hard on her.

  16. Taylor says:

    This book is really touching especially how Roses mother ran away and how her dog Rain got let out side during a hurricane.It is amazing how strong Rose stays throughout her father abusing her like throwing things at Rose and burst of anger at her.

  17. Maddie says:

    My friend is currently reading Rain,Reign and I hope she likes it as much as I did!

  18. Kane says:

    This book was such an emotional and sad book, because she loses her dog in a hurricane and has no idea where she could be, and it really almost made me almost cry. But I just HAD to keep reading on because I needed to know if everything would be okay. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read because it is also a very suspenseful book because for a long time you don’t know what’s happening, and Rose’s father is not that nice to her. Truly an amazing book and kept me up at night reading it until the end.

  19. Maddie says:

    There weren’t many characters, so I don’t have a favorite. But if I had to choose, I would choose Parvani. Parvani, because she was so kind to Rose, and even started her own homonyms list!

  20. Maddie says:

    I LOVED this book so much! The homonyms didn’t annoy me, but her father drove me off a cliff. What Rose did with Rain (Reign, Rein) was so powerful, and so kind. Rose really is a true warrior. I mean, to deal with her father, who, more often than not, is drunk. Rain,Reign was so inspiring. And so sad. I highly thank my friend who recommended this to me.

  21. Ms. Farwell says:

    I loved this book. It brought back memories of how Hurricane Irene affected our state. Rose is a strong character in many ways. I don’t know if I could have made the choices she did. I cried several times reading this!

  22. hannahpeacock says:

    Really sad! Do you think you would have been able to do what Rose did?

  23. Miles says:

    I thought this book was a little annoying with the homophones but it was good. It was very sad at the end too.

  24. hannahpeacock says:

    What did you think of Rose’s father? Why is he so hard on her?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar