Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

The Mouse With the Question Mark Tail

on June 21, 2014

mouse questionby Richard Peck.

A very small mouse of unknown origins runs away from school in the Royal Mews of Buckingham Palace shortly before the celebration of Queen Victoria’s diamond jubilee, celebrating her sixty years on the British throne.


43 Responses to “The Mouse With the Question Mark Tail”

  1. PLM says:

    What i liked about this book is how the mouse went in the horses ear and he got all waxy as the flicked his ear and he went flying out.

    Well, PLM, I have to say, that was very much NOT my favorite part! Three cheers for diversity of taste! — Kate Davie

  2. KK says:

    The Mouse With The Question Mark Tail is a fascinating book about a Mouse who was saved by his Aunt when he was little, but this Mouse was smaller then all the rest and didn’t have a name, he was different but even though he was different that doesn’t mean he couldn’t be the most important Mouse in the Mews. He was bullied and hurt by mean Mice at his school, but he still kept on going, In the beginning of the book he was Curious about everything around him. I love the book, and I hope that other people enjoyed or will enjoy the book to.

  3. TJDS says:

    I think there should be another book with him in an mystery book to find something for the queen.

  4. PJ says:

    I am not that far in this book however I really have enjoyed it so far I love the way this author writes

    Well, his tone is consistent, so I think you will really enjoy the rest of it too! – Kate Davie

  5. Harry potter says:

    I think this is a fun book that I think everyone should read this book.

  6. Dumbledore2005 says:

    One of the greatest things I’ve ever read. Its a fun book.

  7. TJDS says:

    i liked this book because its kind of a journey book.

    Indeed it it, even though journey is not long in miles. — Kate Davie

  8. D K-R GES says:

    This book is really good because there aren’t any other mouse with a ? tail.

  9. Duck frenzy says:

    I bet it is going to be a GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

    I bet that you will win that bet! — Kate Davie

  10. duckymomo999 says:

    I love this book so much! I love how he has a question mark tail that represents ______. I also love how it builds up the suspense and then almost drops it then builds it up again just to drop it again. I also love how he goes from being an orphaned/ small/nameless/bully target/ nothingness to finding him, talking to her, getting his name, and becoming him = the opposite of an orphaned/ small/nameless/bully target/nothingness.

  11. next,planet,tape,violet,fuji. says:

    If you like adventures and mystery then we have a treat for you! It’s all about those two thing PLUS it has friends. Why does the mouse have a question mark tail? Read the book to find out!

  12. asprincess says:

    To Xavier,
    I’d like to know:What was your favorite part of thisbook and why?
    what was your least favorite part of the book if you have 1?

  13. asprincess says:

    This book has lots of adventure and humor, witch I think makes the book so good. It has lots of animals and suprises along the way witch ads the humorous factor.
    SUCH A GOOD BOOK.

  14. asprincess says:

    Dcfreader,
    What are your favorite parts in the book?
    What particular parts of the book do you think are funny?
    Are there any parts of the book you diss liked, and? why

  15. asprincess says:

    This mouse is the smallest mouse in the palace. He knows NOTHING about his past,and he dose not have a family or a name.I find this book very interesting and I love all the unique characters. I would give it a 8 and a half for rating. I highly recomend this book.

  16. xavier says:

    the mouse with the question mark tail by Richard peck personally i loved this book it was funny it had plenty of adventurers and the end was basically one big surprise so i liked it so I’m not surprised that other people liked it and i think more people will come to like the same book

  17. MARMITE says:

    I liked this book and would give it a 7 out of 10, and recommend it to people who like to stay with a book because it only gets good at the End.

    Well, I’ve just started this one, and I like the beginning, partly because it reminds me of other books I have read about royal households. But I’m glad you liked it in the end anyway! — Kate Davie

  18. o.p. says:

    I think that The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail is a good book. I think it’s a good book because I like the illustrations.

  19. ghgreat says:

    hey-BAIgotachipmunk

    why do you think the beginning is not as fitting as the end,also I think the end is the most thoughtful part

  20. BAigotachipmunk says:

    cestampy, did you think this book was your favorite book?

  21. BAigotachipmunk says:

    cestampy, why did you get interested in the book when the author said the mouse was smaller than the others? Did you think the author should do some things diferently?

  22. BAigotachipmunk says:

    completely true ghgreat

  23. BAigotachipmunk says:

    why did the author decide not to reveal [Spoiler info deleted] until the end?

    Sorry, BC, I really liked your question, but I thought it might be a spoiler, and I am pledged not to let that kind of info through! — Kate Davie

  24. ghgreat says:

    Hi cestampy –

    What did you think the mouse did that was selfish? I thought the mouse was not selfish . why do you think hes selfish?

  25. cestampy says:

    I like how the mouse is looking for adventure. I think that he is a little bit selfish. I think the book ends on a good note [Spoiler info deleted. Kate Davie]

  26. ghgreat says:

    Test response

    Test response response! Kate Davie

  27. ghgreat says:

    I like this book because there is adventure and there is a good plot in the book

  28. BAigotachipmunk says:

    I think after the mouse went to school things seemed to go by to fast and I did not under stand why he needed the queens advice.

    I hope someone will be able to answer this for you. I think it is part of the queen’s job to give advice to a lot of people, that might be part of the answer. Kate Davie

  29. BAigotachipmunk says:

    a chipmunk would warm up to the adventures of a mouse

  30. BAigotachipmunk says:

    why did the mouse need advice from the queen?

  31. BAigotachipmunk says:

    I think the best part of the book was when the mouse was riding the chipmunk.I thought the begining was not as fiting as the end because I thought the book just was not as interesting in the first part.I also just don’t no what the most thoughtful part of the book was

  32. cestampy says:

    What was the best part of the book, BAigotachipmunk? Why did you think that the beginning wasn’t as fitting as the end? What was the most thoughtful part of book in your opinion?

  33. cestampy says:

    Hey Dcfreader why did you give the book 10 out of 10? What is your favorite part of the book? Is the funny part of the book your favorite part or is the whole book funny?

  34. BAigotachipmunk says:

    I think the book was not as interesting at first.
    but it gets more interesting as it goes on.

    I would expect a chipmunk to warm up to the adventures of a mouse! Kate Davie

  35. Louisa says:

    FUNNY!

  36. ghgreat says:

    i think it is cool that a little mouse can go so far

  37. BAigotachipmunk says:

    I like how the author made it so the mice wore blazers. I think its funny.The mouse made good choices.

  38. cestampy says:

    The author got me interested in the book when he said the mouse is littler than the others. I like how he is always in fights. I think that he made a choice that is good for intriguing the reader.

  39. lilchlosterpink9 says:

    oh ok sorry. Lil

  40. lilchlosterpink9 says:

    I mean like if someone wants to read it and they are not done and they blog about half and they don’t know the other half and someone says all about the book it will ruin it for the other person. LIL

    Well, if I am doing my job moderating properly, I edit out any spoiler information that people post. But it’s nicer if people edit themselves! Kate Davie

  41. lilchlosterpink9 says:

    Don’t spill it for people.lil

    Spill what? Kate Davie

  42. dcfreader says:

    I like this book and would give it a 10 out of 10 because it was funny.

  43. dragonlord says:

    A small mouse is on a search to find the queen for her birthday. He will go on a big adventure.He will join other mice to find her.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar