Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award

Paperboy

on June 21, 2014

paperboyby Vince Vawter.

When an eleven-year-old boy takes over a friend’s newspaper route in July, 1959, in Memphis, his debilitating stutter makes for a memorable month.


14 Responses to “Paperboy”

  1. #SoftballPitcher14 says:

    I love this book because it shows how everyone is unique in their own ways. It also makes us compare how mean people could be a couple decades ago, and how in a little bit of time this world has changed since then(in a good way).

  2. diego says:

    He has trouble talking and he had a boy named Ara T that’s been stealing stuff from him and he had trouble with spelling words like different,s

  3. #R5Family says:

    Paperboy is the best book I have EVER read! It is soooooo good it does not just have a amazing character but it has so much feeling to it. This is a book that I recommend to every body!

  4. Soccerguy487 says:

    This book was great. It is a story I will remember for a long time. The paperboy’s route helped him with many things, like to learn to speak up more even though he stutters. The twist at the end with Ara T was alarming. This book was awesome!

  5. #DerpOhSnaP says:

    Paper Boy was SUCH a good book! It was funny, touching, and sad at the same time! I loved when he figured out that his dad WAS NOT his dad! So many questions flooded my brain! =) =D
    Paper Boy was my FAVORITE DCF!! I am totally voting for this book when we vote for our favorite DCF!! =D =)

  6. MR says:

    Paperboy is a good book because…
    It is about a boy that has a stuttering problem and he isn’t mad about it, he is happy for who he is. Even when he does the paper route and people misunderstand him, he doesn’t care he just uses sssssssss- to make them understand. He is defiantly true to who he is even when other kids make fun of his stuttering problem.

    I like your phrase “defiantly true”! — Kate Davie

  7. nef says:

    This book paperboy takes place when a boy takes on his friends paper route. It is about his time finding new things out and what they mean.

  8. OFG GES says:

    I like the characters in this book.

  9. ols17 says:

    This book has a pretty action packed story, although I still am wondering who [Spoiler info deleted. – Kate Davie] is. I like in this book how he can throw a hard pitch, and where he goes on his paper route. I do think this was an amazing story too.

  10. fijien tape is asome says:

    If you like reading about kids that have rare problems and you like books with a sad twist then this is a great book for you! The main character has a stuttering problem and on top of that he has to help a friend. And he gets more problems and more friends, but a new friend needs his help. Read this book to find out if he can make his way out of these problems.

  11. Ja man says:

    This book was very good, sometimes I think it could have gone faster but overall it was very good. I think they should have went into more detail about his dad. Also, they should have had more background on Mr.Spiro

  12. glitterbug says:

    This book is amazing because it’s a story about a boy who studders and has a hard time talking to people.I can relate to him having a hard time talking to people.

  13. KB says:

    I did not like this book. I did not like it because it was too sad,and I thought it was too violent at some points.

    Well, it’s a good thing that there are twenty-nine other books on the list! I’m sure you will be able to find something more to your taste. Kate Davie

  14. hockey-girl says:

    I love this book sooooo much! There was some sad moments πŸ™ some happy moments πŸ™‚ and some moments that you just don’t want to stop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar